Warhammer 40,000 Nerdgasm!

Today’s post is not going to be about writing, movies, or even books today. Yes, as you may have guessed, I’m going to be talking to you about Warhammer.

I went over to my friend’s house today to play Warhammer 40,000, and loved every minute of it. We don’t play to the exact ruling; my friend and I prefer enjoying each other’s company over faffing about over specific and exact ruling. We played a few games (the pictures can be seen below), some Ork and Space Marine, others Ork and Imperial Guard. N.B. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, don’t worry – we’ll get to that part in a minute! I love playing Warhammer as I seem to ingest ideas for future novels and even short stories, although I do play for the sheer fun of it as well. 😛

Now, on to the next part of the post. For those of you who don’t know, Warhammer (both fantasy and 40,000, which is just a cooler way of saying 40,000 A.D.) is a table-top game wherein two players battle it out with opposing armies, seen in the pictures below, with dice, rulers, and many other bits of equipment. Basically, if you loved playing with toy soldiers when you were small and just wanted an excuse to carry on when you were ‘too old’ and/or if you really love video games or interactive stories, then this is the hobby for you. However, this hobby comes at a steep price – a literal one. If you don’t have any money to spend, or you don’t want to get into a hobby that you can get serious about, then this isn’t the hobby for you. Wargaming is a very expensive hobby, albeit an unusual and exciting one. I shan’t go into any more detail about it as it would take several thousand words to cover it properly, but if anyone is interested in beginning a new hobby or if you’re merely intruiged, then feel free to contact me – my email address is writerscabinet@gmail.com, but you don’t have to click this link; instead simply copy it into your preferred email website and write away!

And there we go. Sorry that this post wasn’t to do with what this blog is usually about, but I fancied telling you all a bit about what I do apart from being on the computer all day! Feel free to check out the pictures which I took today, which are directly below this sentence. All models are my friend’s, meaning they are painted by him, not me. Maybe I’ll upload my own models in a couple of weeks if anybody’s interested. See you all in a few days. 🙂

The battleboard on which we played our games.

Photobucket

Waaaaaggghhhh!!!

Photobucket

Up close and personal – Space Marine on the left, Ork on the right.

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

