9504 words…9504 problems?

First of all, please excuse me for not posting yesterday – the only excuse I have is that I was working on NaNoWriMo. Second of all, I want to talk to you about how many words I’ve done, where I plan to take my characters, and whether I think I’ll finish on time. So here we go.

I’m 9504 words in, as you can see from the title, and it’s a relatively good word-count. I’m certainly on target (10k for today) and everything is going swimmingly. Or is it? I have encountered a few problems, but are they as numerous as my current word-count?

Well, one problem I’m having is how much I drag the plotline out. I could write quite a lot in some scenes, but I’ve also got to strike a balance between realism and excitement – sometimes a book slips into both categories, but I’m not that good a writer yet! Anyway, that’s quite a problem for me, but I’m sure I’ll work it out.

Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

The second problem I have is the amount of work I have to do besides NaNo (as I write this an essay is due in within a few days, and I haven’t even started), and it is still unclear as to whether other work duties will overtake my writing duties. But again, only time, and work, will tell.Finally, my third problem is that of looking ahead too much. Sometimes I’ll be casually writing and everything is as fine and as cuddly as bunnies and fluffy toys, when something hits me directly in the face (and it isn’t a bunny jumping towards me). No, it’s the realisation that I have to write another 40,000 words. How can I make the plot engaging when I hae that many more words to write, and that being the least? It’s a scary thought when it happens, but as I write more, the scariness factor decreases.

So to wrap it up, do I have 9504 problems? Well the answer is no, no I don’t. NaNo is going pretty well at the moment, and I’m already curious to see where my characters will take me. Now I shall treat you to a short extract of my novel, takn from Chapter One. But before I do, may I just remind you that you can share your work and wordcount in the comments below, or by sharing them via Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/writerscabinet). You can also follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/writerscabinet)! See you all next Monday. 😀

 

’30 Days’ Extract (Chapter One)

It didn’t take much time; the labour lasted no longer than ten minutes. As soon as Abraham heard the baby’s cries he walked through the doorway and into one of the rooms, finding a smiling doctor and a very startled naked woman.

            ‘What are you doing here, Abe?’ The new-fangled mother said it kindly, yet there was forcefulness in her voice.

            ‘I was waiting right outside – I just wanted to say congratulations.’ He smiled and cocked his head to one side; being in the labour room was definitely a new experience for him.

            The mother smiled. ‘Thanks, I appreciate it. Just hope I don’t have to go back to work for a couple of weeks. Do you think they’ll let me stay off for that long?’

            It was the doctor standing over the bed that answered. ‘Doubtful; this is the Wardens we’re talking about. And anyway, I need you back here as soon as you can. It’ll be a nightmare being the only doctor here for a while.’

            A short silence began, and Abraham stood there uncomfortably for a few seconds before quickly spluttering, ‘Well, I should be off.’ He gave a little wave to the mother and the tiny baby wrapped up in a blanket, held tightly in here arms. ‘You both take care, now.’ He sidled out of the room and down the cabin’s steps, quickly looking around. Two dark figures were walking towards the square from the right. Abraham clenched himself so tightly that he thought he would collapse.

            Oh no, not today. Not now. She’s so happy…

            Somehow he managed to force his legs to move, and he ran back towards the cabin, bursting into the room again.

                ‘You have to get out of here!’ he gasped, trying to lift the exhausted mother up. He turned to the doctor. ‘We haven’t got long. Is there any way that we can pretend that the baby was dead, or that she had a miscarriage? We have to hide the baby!’ Abraham ran around the room, uselessly opening all the cabinets and drawers. He did not know what he was looking for.

            ‘Hello? It’s been reported that someone was due to have a baby today…’ The voice came from just outside the door.

            Too late.

 

Any feedback/comments would be greatly appreciated! One more quick thing: watch out for my Skyfall review, expected to be posted either today or tomorrow. 🙂

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on November 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

