No More Reading for Me!

So with my Creative Writing degree mere weeks away (update at the end of this post), I realised something which should have been very obvious to me: I’m going to have to read a butt-load of books! Granted, a lot of these books will be beneficial and extremely enjoyable, but what I’m slightly disappointed about is the pile of books that are already waiting patiently on my to-read bookshelf are going to have to be even more patient.

If you don’t know already, I am a slow reader. Of course I’m going to have to learn to read faster for this degree, but that’s not going to be enough. For me to be able to keep my head above water, I’m going to have to read most of the day, which means I won’t be able to read my personally-bought books, which saddens me – it means that I probably won’t be able to go into a bookstore and just buy books anymore, because I just won’t have the time to read more books.

This is just speculation though. Maybe I’ll be able to read a personal book every 1-2 weeks, which would be good, or maybe I won’t get as many books to read for my degree as I thought. But this can only be theory for now, as I know practically nothing about my degree yet.

Anyway, that’s enough of my rambling. As I said, there is an update about my degree below, if you want to check that out. Wednesday’s post may be a little controversial as I have strong opinions about this subject, but I’m hoping it will provide a means of discussion. 🙂 Saturday’s post should be a film review for the new Total Recall, but that isn’t definite. Thanks for reading once again, and take care! 😀

DEGREE UPDATE: I’m going to be attending an Open Day for my University on the 15th of September, so once that comes around I’ll have far more information to post on here e.g. start date and syllabus, but until then, nothing. My apologies! 😦

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on September 3, 2012, in University and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I always hated when my teachers would tell me I HAD to read something. I love to read, but not when I am forced to do it. Good luck!

  2. Yeah I know, but it’s kind of a given when the degree is Creative Writing. :L Thank you very much; there’ll be an update soon, anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

