Books! (Part two)

Well helloooo! I’m both sad and happy today – sad to be leaving the blog, happy to go on holiday. 🙂 As I said yesterday, this post will be looking at what books I will be reading next.

So obviously I’m going on holiday tomorrow and basically doing nothing over the course of two weeks; ( 😀 ) I have PLENTY of new books to be getting on with. Whilst I highly doubt I’ll finish them all, I prefer to have a choice of what to read next – yes, even on holiday. 😛 The books which will be of most interest to all of you (I am a Christian and therefore I will have a few Christian books as well) are The Road (by Cormac McCarthy), Shadow of the Scorpion (Neal Asher), The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum), The Colour of Magic (Terry Pratchett), and finally The Man who Broke into Auschwitz (by Denis Avey and Rob Broomby). Now that you know them all, I will try to go through each one individually to say why I am excited to read the book, and also what I expect from it.

_

The Road – This one hasn’t really intruiged me until very recently, when I decided to plan/write a post-apocalyptic novel soon (more on this in a later post). However, now that I’ve picked it up and glanced at the layout and writing, I have to say I am eager to review this book; its small scenes and snappy (I mean it) dialogue make it out to be an easy read, but even if it is, it looks to be enjoyable.

Shadow of the Scorpion – I must confess: part of me picked this science-fiction novel up because of the colourful, interesting cover. While that’s not necessarily a bad thing, (after all, that’s why they make covers) I tend to buy a book either because it’s been recommended to me, or because I liked the sound of the blurb at the back of the book – this is why most people read books, in’t it? Anyway, the blurb of this book also looked quite good. I’m not expecting anything groundbreaking, but I’m at least expecting a good, solid read.

The Bourne Identity – This one I picked up from Amazon because of the upcoming release of the film, The Bourne Legacy. Now I’m not a huge fan of thrillers and fast-paced movies, which is why I’ve never watched any of the Bourne films as yet. But after a bit of digging, I discovered that the films were in fact indebted to a series of books originating from the 80s and still continuing today. So I’m giving it a shot – I’m not really expecting much, but who knows?

_

Even though there are two more books to talk about, I will instead cut this into two parts (therefore being a three-part series) and post the final one next week, although the computer will be doing that for me – I’ll already be enjoying the sun in southern France! So here is the thought for while I am away: I will be posting twice a week, starting from next week; one on Tuesday and one on Friday. This makes a total of four posts by the time I’m back, but on the 7th of August blogging will continue daily, as usual! I’m not going to tell you what I’m going to be posting, but I will tell you that the four posts are more focused on writing and reading, rather than films. Thanks for reading, see you in two weeks. 😀

P.S. I will be a little bit sad unil I get back, but mainly I’ll just be happy to be away. 😛

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on July 21, 2012, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

