Books!

Today I will be talking about the current books I am reading, and then on Saturday I will be continuing with what I would like to read, and what I will be reading in the future. Basically, I’m going to talk about books. 🙂 I hope you don’t mind.

My preferred genres of books are twofold – Science-fiction and Fantasy. Yes, I know what you’re thinking. “Oh, he’s just a typical boy, only reading those types of books.” Well, I guess I am a typical boy (although I hate sports) but I find these two genres the most exciting – building imaginary worlds and universes from scratch, creating epic series that span a vast amount of books; learning and reading about new creatures that exist only in that certain world/universe; a place that is completely different from this earth, yet similar enough in our problems and crises? YES PLEASE!

And that’s why I write these genres, too. I’ve tried to write thrillers, tried to think of plots that would rival the likes of To Kill a Mockingbird and Hamlet. But it’s just not me. I’m still trying to accept that, but it is getting easier.

I leave this type of stuff to the pros. *Winks*

 

I am currently reading two books at the moment: Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, and The Ghost Brigades, written by John Scalzi (yes, I can read more than one book at once, and no, it doesn’t affect my enjoyment of them). GoT is quite an interesting read at the moment. I won’t go into detail, but basically it’s a fantasy which isn’t quite so crazy as witches, wizards, orcs, and elves (at least not yet – if there are, please don’t tell me!). Instead it focuses more on the harsh, cruel, less pleasant things in life, and is more of a medieval book with fantasy bits put in. There are things which I am not fond of in it (too many points of view and too much sex/swearing for my liking) but right now I can see myself finishing it and there is a likelihood that I will be buying the next book in the series.

The Ghost Brigades has me hooked. This novel is a sci-fi book, and is the second in the series. I presumed that the main character from the first book would also be included in the second book, but presently that is not the case. Instead it has focused on different characters and plot points, although I am sure that it will all come together in the end (again, don’t tell me). There is, however, a flaw – in my opinion there ar far too many ‘saids’, which for me detracts from the experience. But there are plenty of things that grab me: John Scalzi has crafted his universe perfectly, and it feels like a real place; culture, history, weapons, technology. Everything seems genuine.

Unfortunately, that is the end of this post. I’ll be continuing it on Saturday, however, talking about what I want to read and the books I will be reading next. I hope you enjoyed my blabbering, and I’ll write tomorrow!

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

