1 secret every writer should know…

So I’m sure a few of you (perhaps even a lot of you) clicked to this post because of the title. You thought in anticipation, “What on earth could this secret be? Will it help my writing? Will I be a better writer?” Well, I can tell you now: yes it will help your writing, and yes, it will definitely make you a better writer. But enough delay. The show must go on!

The other day I was watching Friends with Benefits (not a good film, by the way) and I was lazily lying on the couch with a chocolate bar, laughing *occasionally* at the crude humour. But then a moment came when one of the characters said a few lines that almost made me jump up from my seat. “That’s it!” I cried aloud, “that’s the secret to good writing!”

But as I thought more about it, my opinion changed. “No, it’s not really a secret. It’s just that most people who want to write don’t know this one thing; everyone KNOWS about it, but they just don’t seem to PUT IT INTO PRACTICE.”

The quote I am about to write comes from a character named Tommy, played by Woody Harrelson. The ‘secret’ does not come from the quote directly, but it uses the same principle:

My guide book is very simple. You wanna lose weight? Stop eating, fatty! You wanna make money? Work your ass off, lazy! You wanna be happy? Find someone you like and never let him go.

Now while this is a slightly rude and unsympathetic way of looking at it, these sentences have a point – you want to do something? Then go and do it!

This also works for writing, especially for people who want to write but simply don’t know where to start. Well, for all of you out there who feel like that, here’s an extra sentence that I added:

You wanna be a writer? Then start writing, wannabe!

This may also sound very horrible and too direct, but unless you follow the advice, that’s all you’ll ever be: a wannabe.

And I’m not just saying that because I’m a ‘holier-than-thou’ writer; I have actually had experience in this area. For years I started writing the beginning of ‘novels’, only to find myself giving up on them days later. Lack of experience? Yes, I suppose so. Didn’t plan enough? Definitely. But the main reason that I never finished was because I didn’t WRITE. I had no motivation.

WRITERS WRITE.

It’s no secret. It’s not a classified document that only government officials can read. It’s a known thing that simply isn’t put into practice by young, inexperienced wannabe writers. Stop daydreaming about what you ‘might’ write if you had the chance; take that chance and just put the words onto paper or onto a computer!

Secret

Not really, guys!

So that’s it for today. If you feel differently, or simply want to comment or question something, then please, leave a comment in the section below, or by my email which you can find in the ‘Contact’ section above. And if you want to keep up to date with my new posts, then please follow me by clicking the ‘Follow’ button on the right hand side.

Thanks! 😀

About writerscabinet

Follow me on Twitter and Facebook to get up-to-date information, instead of waiting for the weekly blog post to get your news!

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

